top of page

The Devil's Pact

There was once an orphan who wanted to take revenge. His name was Jack and he lived somewhere in England. His parents were killed by his uncle and aunt when he was 8 years old. Jack's uncle and aunt usurped the house and sent Jack into the orphanage. The nuns that ran the place were kind and made sure every child in their established received love. However, Jack was not moved by their love. He only felt the festering hatred when he thought about his dead parents. One day, Jack explored the town and looked into a bookstore. He went to the back where the abandoned books were kept. He dug through the pile and stumbled upon one with a stained cover and peeling words. Jack flipped through its pages and saw that it was a book of magic. Black magic.

There were potion recipes, incantations, and rituals of all sorts. Jack became interested and bought with the little pocket money he had. By his bed at night, he read and absorbed in the information. He went through some more pages and one page caught his eye. It was a page on summoning. He drew a circle in the middle of his room and drew incantations with chalk according to the book. He also set up several lit candles and initiated the ceremony. Jack stepped back from the circle and began to utter the spell. A mysterious breeze had settled in the room and the circle glowed with a purplish light. The chalk lines faded and the circle became a mouth opening in the room. Jack peered into the vortex and saw angry purple clouds and rising fumes from the Underworld. A devil emerged from the dark cloud. He had dark blue skin, large wings, and two small horns on his head. His yellow slitted pupils glowed in the dark room.

"I am Belphegor, what may I do for you, child?" the devil asked.

"I want to take revenge," said Jack.

"I can do everything under one condition. Once I complete your request, I will take your soul in exchange for my service," answered Belphegor.

"That's a done deal," said Jack.

"If there are more things you want to be done, there will be different exchanges. Are you willing to accept that?" asked Belphegor.

"Yes," Jack replied eagerly. Belphegor lightly curved his lips.

"What is your name?"

"Jack," said the boy.

"I will take my leave until you call for me again. Unless you have something you me to do now?"

"Not at the moment," said Jack.

"Good night, Jack. Just whisper my name when you need me," said Belphegor and disappeared into the shadows.

The next day, Jack summoned Belphegor to his empty room. Belphegor knelt before Jack under the spilling sunlight from the window.

"You called, Jack," said Belphegor looking up.

"How am I going to take revenge?" Jack asked. "I never done that before."

"That's why you summoned me, isn't that correct?"

"Uh .. yes," said Jack now turning slightly pink.

"That is no worry. All I need to know is who and where."

"Who and where?"

"Who is that you want to kill and where are they?"

"Kill?!" exclaimed Jack in fear. "I-I don't want to kill, I just want to take revenge!"

"So your idea of revenge is just a small punishment?"

"Well, something along those lines," said Jack quickly.

"Answer me then. Who do you want punished?"

"My aunt and uncle," said Jack uncomfortably.

"And where are they right now?"

"They're still living around here in my old house."

"Your house? Well why don't we take a look then?"

Walking down the cobblestone paths and dirt roads, the city of London unfolded before Jack's eyes. Stacked houses and chimneys fuming with smoke occupied the city. As Jack walked, Belphegor walked alongside disguised as a young man. Finally the establishment came into view. It wasn't a grand mansion, but a simple house decorated with furnishings.

"I will invoke a spell on you so that you will become invisible," said Belphegor.

He did a wave with his clawed hand over the orphan's head and undid the lock without touching the door. Together they entered building. The hallway was decorated with black and white photos on a flowered wallpaper. They were pictures of his aunt and uncle. Some of them were their friends and some were relatives. Jack wished that there was a picture of his parents, but that would be impossible. He toured through the dining room and into the living room. The same porcelain vase holding flowers by the window still sat there. The same dresser table covered with doilies and the same blue tea set locked behind the glass doors of the wooden cabinet was still there. Jack walked up the stairs quietly into the bedrooms. He searches the closets and found nothing but clothes and moth balls.

Jack shut the doors and went into his old room. It transformed entirely into a storage room. The mattress was gone and all was left was the metal structure of the bed. Several crates and baskets filled with items were pushed to the side of the room. Two large paintings covered under heavy cloth were propped against the stacked crates. An old fancy chair laid gathering dust while some moth eaten drapery laid tossed over the armrest. Jack ran his finger along an old drawer and created a dust pile at the end of his finger's path.

"I want everything back," said Jack looking down at his worn out shoes. "I want Mama and Papa back right here. I want the house back. This was all ours."

"What are we going to do about your aunt and uncle?" inquired Belphegor.

"They must go."

"is that your wish?"

"Yes," Jack responded.

"Let's leave now. They are back," said Belphegor.

Jack's aunt and uncle had already made their way into the living room.

"What do we do now, Belphegor?," Jack asked worriedly.

"Did I just hear something upstairs?" asked Jack's uncle from downstairs.

"How could it be? There's not a soul in this house except the two of us," said the aunt.

"It could be a thief. You never know what those thieves could be up to. I'm going upstairs to take a look. Bring me the poker from the fireplace," said the uncle.

"Belphegor," Jack whispered and tugged at Belphegor's arm.

"Not to worry, we are invisible," said Belphegor. "I will get us out without any further delay."

Belphegor picked up Jack in his arms and walked towards the stairs. Jack's uncle was holding his metal poker ready to strike. His aunt trailed behind her husband with a broom. Belphegor leaped over the two and down the stairs. The swift wind startled Jack's aunt and uncle and both dropped their weapons. Belphegor leaped into the streets and into the air. His leathery wings spread and ascended above the city of London. When they were back at the orphanage, Belphegor turned to leave.

"Wait!" Jack called after Belphegor.

"What is it, Jack?" Belphegor asked softly.

"Um ... " said Jack slightly surprised. "What do I do now?"

"You just have to wait and see," smiled Belphegor.

Each day passed with no change. Belphegor didn't come to visit and Jack continued to wait. He stared outside the window instead of at his reader during class. The afternoon sun hit the worn wooden desk and splashed its light onto the reader. The lazy afternoon continued with its usual activities and ended promptly at lunchtime. The slow afternoon was then interrupted with some strange news.

"Did you hear recently about the old house on Cross Lane?"

"Huh? What happened?"

"There's a rumor that there's a ghost in the house."

"A ghost?!"

"The old lady that lives there found a snake in the bathroom and toads under the bed."

"That's not a ghost. That's witchcraft."

"Or maybe its the Devil himself."

"Oooh!"

"Oh dear God!" Jack's aunt shouted. "What is this!"

A trail of dirt footprints had made its way up the stairs and stopped right in front of the bedroom.

"What the bloody hell is going on!" Jack's uncle followed behind.

"T-there's a devil in the house, George. There's no doubt something's wrong," said Jack's aunt quaking with fear.

"But that's preposterous! We haven't done anything to invite the devil to our establishment!" exclaimed George.

"What if it's ... Adam," whispered Jack's aunt.

"No!" bellowed George. "That's ridiculous, Meredith."

"Oh, Adam please have mercy," prayed Meredith.

"Meredith, there's no sort of thing," said George now raising his voice. "It's probably some meddling youngster that's playing some really bad prank on us."

"That's right, that's right. It's probably some rotten kids," Meredith consoled herself. "But George that's still insane."

"Enough of this," said George. "Nothing's been stolen and nothing has been disturbed."

Later that evening, George and Meredith settled for a quiet supper. Meredith brought out the plate of bread and steaming bowls of stew. When she set down, George began to spoon the stew into his mouth.

"George," said Meredith. "Shouldn't we say grace before we start?"

George put down the spoon.

"We haven't done that in quite a while. Why start right now?" asked George.

"Well I thought maybe we should try doing that again," suggested Meredith.

"I think those pranks are getting to you m'dear."

"Please," begged Meredith. She looked into his eyes with a meaningful glance.

"Oh alright, alright. We'll say grace. We thank the Lord, amen."

"Amen."

After a while, a loud scratching noise interrupted their supper.

"Oh dear what is it now," said Meredith.

"Those nasty hooligans I bet," said George. "Ignore it."

The scratching noise grew louder and then changed into a loud thump. George and Meredith stopped and turned their heads to the front door. Three slow knocks came from the door.

"Just ignore it," muttered George, but turned to take a last look.

The three slow knocks came again.

"Perhaps we should take a look," said Meredith.

George rose from his seat and Meredith followed behind. George undid the latch and twisted the doorknob. A black dog stood waiting outside.

"Why it's a dog," said George.

"George, quick! Close the door!" exclaimed Meredith hysterically.

"Meredith calm yourself," assured George.

The black dog's eyes glowed red and began to pant loudly.

"George close the door! Look!"

"Meredith ... oh my God!"

The black dog showed its large fangs and began salivating all over the ground. On all fours, it jumped up to attack. George slammed the door shut and fumbled to chain the latch.

"Tis the Black Shuck!" screeched Meredith.

"Oh dear god, why would the Black Shuck be there!"

"It's going to k-kill us, George. The Black Shuck is a a demon dog. Tis a demon dog that brings death to whoever sees it."

George immediately stumbled backwards knocking down a tall potted plant.

"When ... does ... it ... kill ... you?"

"I don't know, I don't know!" cried Meredith and burst into tears.

"Is it still outside?"

"I don't know," said Meredith wiping her tears. "I don't hear anything."

George peeked out the windows.

"I don't see anything," said George and reached for the door.

"No George!"

George slowly twisted the door knob and opened a slight crack. Then he thrust open the door.

"Why ... it's gone," said George. "Like it was never there at all."

The saliva had disappeared from the ground and no sign of the Black Shuck was seen. George closed the door quietly.

"We're alright Meredith. There's nothing to fear."

"Belphegor," called Jack.

"Yes?" Belphegor answered.

"What ... exactly are you planning?"

"I promise that your aunt and uncle will leave."

"Really?" said Jack uneasily.

"It is in our contract between us that I will fulfill your wishes."

"Oh. You never asked why I didn't like my relatives."

"There's no need for me to know. Would you like to tell me?"

"I can, but I don't know if you would be interested."

"Human matters seem trivial to me, but entertain me with your tale."

"When I was 8, my parents died. In fact, they had been murdered by them. They probably wanted to kill me too, but I was at Grandmother's that day. They told me that Mother and Father got in a horrible accident, but I know that they were poisoned. They produced a will that the remaining house will belong to them and that I would be under their care. I hated that! I wanted to stay at Grandmother's but I was restricted by the will. Grandmother would try to visit me as much as possible, but she stopped going when I was 10. She had gotten quite ill and old. She passed away and I was all alone. Shortly after, I was sent to the orphanage since they obviously don't want to take care of me. That's how I ended up here."

"And then you summoned me."

"That's right," said Jack. "After ... you get rid of them ... I get to go back into the house?"

"If those are your wishes, then yes," said Belphegor.

"Belphegor, am I right for punishing them. I don't know if I should really have them killed. I'm so confused!" cried Jack. "Tell me Belphegor! You're a demon. You know the supernatural, am I right for punishing them!"

Belphegor pulled Jack close to him and put his claws over Jack's head.

"When you summoned me, were you not confident that you wanted punishment on your aunt and uncle for murdering your parents? You're only a child, but you have the will of a grown man. Even some men cannot compare to you with that," Belphegor praised. "Why is it that demons choose to work alongside with humans? It is because your raw emotions are so complex and push you to do unbelievable things. Isn't it because you long so much for your parents that you wish to do something for the sake of their loss? I am only granting you an available oppportunity to make your wishes come true. "

"I don't know," said Jack looking down. "I feel so alone and sad each day. It's like no one cares about me and then you're here to grant my wish and watch over me. I feel ... I feel better with you around."

"But I am not your parent, Jack. Remember that."

Jack felt an uncomfortable thorn in his chest. Belphegor's words brought even more sadness to him.

"Belphegor, can you be my parent then? Can you become part of my family then?" begged Jack.

"That is a different matter I believe," said Belphegor looking away quickly. "It's time for me to go."

"You're welcome to visit anytime!"

The demon turned to look at Jack.

"I'm afraid I've been sore company."

Some wind gathered in the room and Belphegor disappeared in a dark cloud.

George and Meredith had already gone to bed by this time. Sound asleep, the moonlight peered in behind the curtains. A small crack emerged from their bedroom ceiling. A piece of paint dropped on to George's head, but didn't disturb him from his slumber. The small crack began to branch outwards and more pieces of the ceiling began to fall. Meredith turned to her side and took no notice of the falling debris. The ceiling then collapsed and all contents from the attic poured onto George and Meredith. They awoke and gave a yelp which was soon smothered by heavy debris. The dust cloud had gathered in the room and the red blood began soaking the white linen sheets. The loud panting of the Black Shuck echoed from the hallways and the bedroom door suddenly opened. The black dog had its mouth wide open dripping saliva as it entered the room. As it walked closer to the bed, it bared its fangs and let out a low growl. Bowing down its head, the Black Shuck lapped up the freshly obtained blood.

The next morning, the local police cleared up the corpses and sealed up the house. Jack was awake at the orphanage in his bed, but stayed under his covers. The conversation from the previous night left an uncomfortable pit in his chest.

"Jack," called a familiar voice.

Jack lifted the covers to see Belphegor looming over his bed.

"Belphegor? What's going on?" asked Jack now sitting up.

"I thought you might be interested in today's events."

"Did ... something happen," suspected Jack.

"Many things happen in this world. I'm surprised. I thought you would be interested contrary to my beliefs."

"What happened today then?"

"I'll show you after you had your breakfast. It may spoil your appetite."

Jack entered the small cafeteria of the orphanage. There were three long tables that stretched from the ends of the room and seated with children. Another child stood by a cauldron with a ladle and a basket of bread. Jack held his bowl to be filled with oatmeal and reached for a loaf of bread.

"Morning Jack!" said the boy. "Hey, take another loaf. Everyone gets two today."

"Really. Gee thanks Tom. That's really nice," responded Jack.

"Don't thank me. Sister Agnes said they gots more breads for today," said Tom. "Good things happenin' today."

After breakfast, Jack left the orphanage to explore. Belphegor followed behind disguised as a young man.

"So what's the thing you wanted to show me?" asked Jack.

"Just follow me," answered Belphegor.

He took Jack's hand just as an older brother would hold a younger brother and led Jack into a small crowd. The murmuring crowd parted as Belphegor pulled Jack through.

"Isn't this ..." asked Jack.

A piece of parchment had been attached to the doors of Jack's old house barring entrance into the establishment.

"I heard someone died," said a bystander.

"Actually two people. Crushed they say," said the other.

"Crushed? By what?"

"Apparently the house was getting old and the ceiling collapsed with all that weight."

Jack stood stone-faced in front of the house. The crowd began to dissipate leaving Belphegor and Jack alone.

"How are you feeling, Jack?" asked Belphegor.

"They're gone. They're finally gone," said Jack. "I guess I'm grateful for it. Now I just want it back with Mama and Papa."

A few days later, a will surfaced to the police department gifting the house to Jack and the damages be repaired using the account of Jack's deceased relatives. Jack then moved into the house happily. He had only a small suitcase of belongings to bring and Belphegor accompanied him as a new guardian.

"Here you are. The house is yours Jack," said Belphegor putting on a smile.

Jack felt his heart sink a bit when he saw Belphegor smile.

"Are you going to stay with me too?" asked Jack.

"If you wish," replied Belphegor.

"Can you ... stay here then? I'm not use to being all alone," said Jack.

"As you wish," said Belphegor. "There is still a little left before I collect."

Sitting in the comfy armchair, Jack reached for the tin can of biscuits.

"Would you like one?" asked Jack.

"Why would I? I have no preference," said Belphegor.

"You mean, demons can't taste?" asked Jack.

"No. We don't enjoy it," said Belphegor.

"So, what do you enjoy then?"

"Nothing much really. Just the occasionally human soul."

"How do human souls taste like?"

"To us, it's the most powerful substance we can get our hands on. It's complex yet fleeting in a way."

"So ... how would my soul taste like?" asked Jack twiddling his thumbs.

"It depends on how seasoned your experiences are like. I'm sure your soul wouldn't be bland."

Jack tried to imagine his soul like a bowl of soup, but the thought of being eaten frightened him.

"But I can't die yet right? I mean, I said that I want my parents back too."

"That is correct. It is not time yet."

"When do I get my parents back?"

"In three days of time, they will be brought back from the dead."

Jack waited anxiously for three days. He paced up and down the hallway when he nothing to do in the afternoons. He would tidy up the rooms so that his parents wouldn't be disappointed. He brought fresh flowers that his mother liked and arranged the chairs for a family of three. Jack would silently giggle to himself of made up memories in his head. By the third night, Jack waited in the living room. The lights were extinguished leaving only the moonlight shining through the window. Belphegor released his wings and put one hand to the ground. A purple spell circle glowed and a sudden wind filled the room. The purple glow grew stronger and filled the room. A dark void appeared and howls echoed from the dark space. Jack saw glowing specters swirling in the dark space. The howling became increasingly loud. Belphegor began muttering some chants under his breath and brought forth lightning in the void. Two glowing orbs surfaced and lingered in midair. The void began to close and the spell circle disappeared. The glowing orbs began to shift into human forms.

"Mama ... Papa ... " whispered Jack.

The manifestations became more and more like Jack's parents and began to land onto the ground.

" ... where is this ..." said Jack's mother.

" ... it looks like our old house ..." said Jack's father.

Jack's parents turned to see Jack sitting on the chair in shock.

"Jack ... Jack!" they cried.

"Mama! Papa!" Jack cried back and ran forward to his parents. However as he went to embrace, Jack's hands went through his parents' translucent bodies.

"Our bodies ... they're not human flesh, but ectoplasm," said Jack's father.

"So we are unable to be together as a family," said Jack's mother.

"B-but, why! I summoned you back so we can be together! After all I've been through!" shouted Jack.

"Son, why did you call us back? You should know that souls like us cannot linger in the human world," said Jack's father.

"I-I was really lonely. Uncle George and Aunt Meredith are horrible people that killed you and put me in an orphanage!" explained Jack.

"Where's George and Meredith?" asked Jack's mother.

"They're gone forever! Dead! The both of them!" laughed Jack.

"Jack how could you!" said his mother. "That's just vile!"

"Jack! I'm ... I'm ... To kill someone is just wrong!" said his father.

"I did it all for you!"

"How can you do this to us!" roared his father. "You murdered people and bring us back to see the sin you committed! Did we not teach you to live your life with love and not hate! You ... you sided with the Devil instead of with God! You insult us!"

At this moment, the bodies of Jack's parents' shapeshifted into one horrifying monster. It flew across the room breaking windows and knocking down vases. Jack hid under the table shivering. The monster lifted the table and smashed it to the ground. Jack rolled away and crawled towards the door only to be blocked by the monster.

"Don't you get away, boy," said the monster.

It grabbed Jack by the leg and pulled him. Jack struggled furiously as he gripped onto the floor boards and chipped his nails. His fingers began to bleed and a floor board came apart. The monster began to chew on his body and Jack screamed in pain as he felt the fangs chew through the bone. Trails of blood smeared on the floor and continued to travel through the cracks of the floorboard.

"Belphegor ... ," said Jack weakly. "You knew this ... didn't you?"

Belphegor remained silent.

"You ... you only wanted my soul," said Jack now weeping silent tears. "After all this time, I turned to you as an older brother, you turn to me as your prey. "

"Jack, did you forget? I told you to remember," said Belphegor.

"Why? Why! I regret it all so much ... I loved you so much," cried Jack as half his body was consumed by the monster.

"It's time," said Belphegor.

With a wave of Belphegor's hand, the monster disappeared and once again the room was dark. Jack laid motionless on the ground. The blood had gone cold and sticky. Belphegor put his hand over Jack's body and drew out a glowing orb.

"Since you loved me so, you can be together with me forever," said Belphegor and swallowed the orb.

After a few minutes, he spat out a bulb. Slowly the bulb opened up revealing a small body of a child. Immediately the child began to grow bigger. Its skin became dark red and wings sprouted from its back. It opened its eyes and unraveled itself from fetal position.

"Belphegor," called the kneeling child.

"From now on, you are no longer Jack. You are Asmodeus and you will be by my side all of eternity," said Belphegor.

"Is this out of pity?" asked Jack, now the new Asmodeus.

"I free to whatever I wish to do with the souls I acquire. Whether it is to turn them to my underlings or familiars, it is entirely up to me," replied Belphegor.

"Then ... what am I to you now?" asked Asmodeus.

"You are my fledgling," said Belphegor.

At this point, Asmodeus couldn't hold back his tears and started to sob. Belphegor knelt down and brushed the tears off Asmodeus' face.

"Demons don't cry," said Belphegor softly.

"I'm a good example," sobbed Asmodeus. "Only a pair of wings sets me apart from a human."

"You will learn, Asmodeus. How we are different. You'll understand then," said Belphegor.

Belphegor scooped the small Asmodeus in his arms and walked out of the house on Cross Lane.

bottom of page