top of page

The Oni Slayers: Chapter 17


“How many times do I have to say it? I will not join you,” said Ryuu. “Fight for yourself, not for Digger,” said Shimura. “My wishes are my lord’s,” said Ryuu stubbornly. “I still don’t understand why you humans chose to revive me. It will be your regrettable mistake.” “I watched your fight with Saiyou. You refused to use your sword. Clearly you are not simply a killing machine,” noted Shimura. “Digger may have said that you were made for that purpose , but I disagree. We all disagree. You have your own will.” “Human, you make me vomit,” spat Ryuu. “You talk of will and aspirations. There is no such thing here in this realm. There is only power and those who subjugate under it.” “Your purpose is not to serve Digger!” interrupted Takuya. “Fool! To be of Lord Digger’s service is of highest honor. He gave me power and purpose for existence,” silenced Ryuu. He gave a glare that shook Takuya in his very steps. “Saiyou left you alive for a reason. You fight honorably, but for a wrong purpose. If you insist on fighting for Digger, I have no choice, but to take you down, my friend,” announced Shimura drawing his sword. “Friend? How humorous of you,” said Ryuu who also unsheathed his katana.

Ryuu slit his finger and let his blood ooze from the cut onto the shining metal. The katana glowed white and morphed into a strange curve with angular parts jutting out. Almost instantly, both fighters crossed blades. They were locked in combat mode. It was hard to tell who was gaining the upper hand. Takuya watched with strained eyes trying to de-construct the quick movements of the Shadowless Sword. He was entirely usurped by the amazing speed of the swordsmanship and forgotten entirely about the chilling fear he felt just moments ago.

A pair of hands snatched Takuya and dragged him deeper into the woods. His hands groped around for his gun, but something had gripped his hand tightly. He was being dragged further away from Shimura. He then felt himself flung to the forest ground. Two oni with short swords were intent on cutting him down. Takuya quickly pulled out his pistol to shoot. He fired and both oni escaped in opposite directions. Unable to keep track of both oni’s movements, Takuya flinched at every little movement. He could feel their presence, but was unable to note their exact locations. He could hear them circling around him hidden behind the thick trees and sneering at his incompetence. Just then, it felt as if a cold blade had just reached Takuya’s exposed neck.

The youth took no time to think. He darted like a frightened rat. The blade had nicked off a piece of his skin. A faint rusty smell of blood lingered in the air. Takuya clasped a hand around his neck. He could feel a bit of warm liquid around the searing cut. “What are you doing here, little human,” toyed the oni. Takuya inhaled sharply and locked eyes on the oni in front of him. The other oni remained hidden somewhere. “I have no business with you. I don’t wanna kill anybody,” said Takuya. “No business, eh? We happen to have business with you,” answered the oni. A loud shriek sounded in the thicket. They all turned to look around them. First a short sword fell from above. Then a body of an oni with a slashed neck fell to the ground.

The oni in front of Takuya turned to run. As much as he wanted to shoot, Takuya took this as a cue to run as well. Something dangerous was in the vicinity like a wild beast. He heard yet another shriek and turned to see. The other oni had his neck slashed as well. Takuya turned again to run, but couldn’t anymore. The throat slasher was already in front of him. The cloaked figure extended his arm to Takuya’s neck. He could feel the stranger’s nails at his throat ready to slash at any moment.

Shimura and Ryuu were amidst exchanging harsh blows at each other. The weapon in Shimura’s hand felt heavy and exhausting. His own speed began to lag behind. Ryuu was not too battered from the fight. Just a few scratches here and there. Shit, if this keeps going on my only option is to retreat. I’m not as good as Saiyou. Ryuu will probably catch up to me, thought Shimura. It was then that he noticed Takuya was not in sight. Where could he have gone? Maybe it was a good thing he disappeared. He had to worry about himself now.

Ryuu’s blade was crackling with electric currents. He swung the glowing blade and the current channeled to Shimura. Shimura screamed in agony and fell to the ground. “Oh? Your skin is not charred,” said Ryuu thoughtfully. “I see. The thin layer of chi emitted at the very last moment protected you.” The electric current had immobilized Shimura completely. The bit of chi he produced was his body’s reflex for defense. The lack of stamina had exposed his vital pressure points to damage. Now he laid sprawled face down. His sword was only a few inches away. Dammit! thought Shimura. He’s making a move! Ryuu held the sword with the tip pointing downwards above Shimura’s head. He lifted and plunged the weapon deep into the soft ground.

“Thank goodness I made it on time,” said a familiar brown haired man. “It’s you again,” said Ryuu biting through his teeth. Shimura laid against a tree trunk unscathed. He had nearly escaped the hands of a reaper had it not been Saiyou pulling him away at the very last second. “Where is Takuya?” asked Saiyou looking around. “I don’t know where he went. I was too absorbed in the fight,” relayed Shimura. “That doesn’t sound good. I hope he didn’t get abducted and ground to pulp,” said Saiyou. “I’m going to trust that his luck will land him somewhere safe,” added Shimura. “You know, you really should have a little more faith in your friends.” Saiyou remarked. “If I did, I think I would be attending your funeral right now.”

The cloaked stranger removed his garb. His pointed ears revealed his demonic nature. He had soft orange hair that was as brightly colored as he fruit itself. He had yellow slitted eyes like Ryuu, but they looked less frightening. The stranger’s attire consisted of a sleeveless black changsan-like dress with an embroidered crescent over his chest. He wore baggy white pants stuffed in tall boots. “It’s been a long time since humans set foot in the demon realm,” said the oni. His voice was relaxing as if he was recalling a forgotten memory. “Who ... are you?” Takuya asked bravely. His pistol was aimed at the stranger. His finger slightly trembled at the trigger. The oni calmly pushed the gun away from his face. “I am Tsuku,” said the oni. “I may ask you the same.”

Takuya refused to let go off his gun, but refrained from shooting. His heart was pounding out his chest. The oni in front of him had just annihilated two demons in a matter of minutes. He could effortlessly decapitate Takuya if he wanted to. “Takuya,” answered they boy shakily. “You have no need to worry. I don’t kill humans on the spot. Unless they happen to associate with a certain lot,” said Tsuku dangerously. Many fears raced in Takuya’s mind. Certain lot? Who could he possibly mean? Who’s side is he on?

The orange haired oni studied Takuya’s face. “So tell me. What are you doing here in the demon realm?” the oni asked. “I’m here to kill Digger,” said Takuya. “He killed my girlfriend.” A blurred image of Tsukino appeared in his mind. He could make out her light brown hair and almond shaped face, but her eyes, nose and lips couldn’t be conjured up. “Digger? You have guts trying to take down the ruler of the eastern lands,” Tsuku chuckled. “I haven’t been so lucky trying to assassinate him. A human like you can’t handle even those two oni. Where are your comrades?” “I don’t know. One of them is fighting Ryuu,” answered Takuya. Tsuku furrowed his brow. “Ryuu? This can’t be good.” Takuya’s heart sunk a bit. “Why?” “I sensed a powerful aura and came to see what the commotion was. Then I saw you and two oni. Now you’re telling it’s Ryuu nearby,” recounted Tsuku. “Ryuu isn’t the type to negotiate. He will destroy his target no matter what.”

An image of Shimura gutted on the forest ground crossed Takuya’s mind. He didn’t want to see his friend in extreme circumstances. “It looks like you aren’t my enemy ... yet,” said Tsuku. “Let me confirm one thing from you. Why are you here to kill Digger?” As if it wasn’t simple enough, Takuya spewed angrily. “If it weren’t for Digger, my girlfriend wouldn’t have died! All the people that day wouldn’t have to die! I wouldn’t have ran like a coward! People are dying everyday because there oni are living among us that eat humans! These damn demons are killing us!” He huffed and continued on bitterly. “Shimura is risking his life out there with Ryuu and I don’t know where the hell Saiyou is. He wanted Ryuu to live, but I’m starting to regret. My friend could be dying this very moment and it’s all because of me. I’m weak!”

Tsuku just stood and absorbed in the contents of Takuya’s fury. “You hate the oni,” said Tsuku quietly. “Of course I hate them,” Takuya scowled. Not all. The gatekeepers weren’t that bad. I don’t hate Saiyou for being half-oni. “But you hate yourself more,” said Tsuku. “For not being able to stop them.” Takuya was wondering where this conversation was taking them. He still had no idea who Tsuku’s allegiance was to. What surprised him next was what Tsuku confessed. “I hate the oni too,” said Tsuku. “What?” said Takuya dumbfounded. “I just told you. I hate them too.” Takuya picked up his gun to aim. “No way. You’re just playing games with me!” Tsuku raised his hands to motion ceasefire. “They took someone important from me as well.” At this Takuya put down his weapon. “Who’s side are you on?” Takuya asked briskly. “On yours.”

A/N

changsan - the male equivalent to the Chinese cheongsam

bottom of page