top of page

The Oni Slayers: Chapter 18


“My side?” said Takuya bewildered. “You humans like to appear during the worst of times. The world here is divided into sections of chaos,” said Tsuku. “I know. Digger in the east with the Tsuchigumo. Some powerful oni are in the further west,” said Takuya. “How did you know that?” “The two gate keepers and some of the guards in the castle told us.” “You get the gist of it. It’s chaos all over.” “How do I know you’re on my side? You still don’t convince me.” “Surely enough you’ve heard and seen how powerful the oni have become. Things have gotten out of control because of the evolution panacea being distributed. The need for human flesh consumption also spirals out of control ... ” explained Tsuku. “So they start entering the human world with the help of human summoners,” finished Takuya. “Right. There is an unholy collaboration going on between the two and it isn’t doing any good for both humans and demons. Do you understand where I’m going with this?” said Tsuku. “I think so ... ” said Takuya. “I don’t want any more humans being slaughtered by the demons, but neither do I want to see demons killing demons over power. I want it to stop just as much as you do,” elaborated Tsuku.

“How do I know I can trust you,” said Takuya still doubtful. “I wanted Digger dead as well,” said Tsuku. “He wasn’t helping us one bit.” “So you’re like those other oni that wanted peace,” said Takuya. “You can say that,” agreed Tsuku. “I don’t eat human flesh and I most certainly don’t approve of this evolution panacea. Whoever is behind this bears ill will.” Takuya found assurance in the new associate. “I don’t get why they killing us. What have we done?” said Takuya. “When demons consume human flesh, their level of power increases. The panacea also increases power, but the hunger for flesh and blood lust also increases. Then again for some demons, killing is in their nature,” said Tsuku distastefully. “And when we fought Digger, he said that it was a human that developed the panacea. What good does it do for that person? Clearly we all get killed,” argued Takuya. “Whoever that person is, they are plotting something sinister for the both of us. We should probably go to your friend now and stop Ryuu.”

Saiyou was busy clashing swords with Ryuu. The harsh biting sound of metal against metal resounded. Shimura sat up against a tree slowly regaining strength. The numbness in his fingers were dissipating as he continuously clenched his hands. There was no end to the echoing sword fight. Neither party showed signs of weakness. Just then Shimura caught on a rustle of leaves. The familiar footsteps of Takuya appeared along with a new visitor. “Shimura!” Takuya shouted as he saw his comrade on the ground. He then turned to see that Saiyou had also found his way in the forest. Tsuku took a long look at Ryuu and examined his movements thoroughly. “Indeed it is Ryuu. Thunder Hand Ryuu,” confirmed Tsuku.

Saiyou and Ryuu noticed the presence of Tsuku and ceased their attacks. Ryuu looked disdainfully at Tsuku. “Traitor,” he hissed. “This must be your new friend,” said Saiyou eying Tsuku. “And you must be Takuya’s friend,” replied Tsuku. “I’m glad he has powerful friends around him.” “Friends? What are they good for after they’re dead,” Ryuu interrupted rudely. “Digger has seriously brainwashed you,” said Tsuku. “He needs to get some sense beaten back to him,” remarked Saiyou. “He resists a good kick in the ass.”

“Shimura, how did you end up fried?” asked Takuya. “You can say it was a slip up. I’m not as great as you think I am,” Shimura smiled weakly. He looked up to study Tsuku. “He looks a good guy,” said Shimura. “Where did you find him?” “It’s kind of complicated,” said Takuya. “I think we can trust him.” Tsuku walked closer to Ryuu. “Get back you traitor,” barked Ryuu. “We were friends,” said Tsuku. “Like you said, we were friends, not anymore,” said Ryuu. “You have changed,” said Tsuku sadly. “Bitter and pessimistic.” “So have you,” Ryuu replied astringently. “Weak and short-sighted.”

Under his cloak, Tsuku produced a short sword from behind his waist. The short and wide blade didn’t look intimidating at all. To Takuya, it was as good as a rusty woodcutter’s knife. Tsuku ran his index finger across the blade leaving a trail of blood. His weapon glowed and morphed into a long scythe. The black handle was shaped like a vertebrae and had an extra bladed tip at the very end. Saiyou’s sword was blazed with blue aura and struck Ryuu’s sword first. The fiery sparks singed the grass. Tsuku leapt with his scythe about to dig the weapon into his former companion, but Ryuu darted away. “You’re not going to kill him are you?” asked Saiyou. “Nope. But if I have to take an arm or two ...” said Tsuku.

Ryuu swung his blade and charging thunder came into his opponents’ way. Tsuku’s sweeping scythe let out a deadly black aura that counted the thunder. It overcame the yellow energy and crept towards Ryuu’s direction. Still advancing, Ryuu dodged and watched the black flames consume the trees. At this moment, Tsuku distracted Ryuu by clashing his scythe with Ryuu’s katana. He pressed hard so that the bladed tip could reach his heart. Ryuu held steadfast on his katana so that the scythe would not pierce him. Springing from behind, Saiyou slashed Ryuu in the back. The blood splattered onto Tsuku’s face. When did he get behind me, Ryuu thought. He jumped away from the danger only to have Tsuku pursue with the scythe. Using the handle, Tsuku whacked Ryuu into the air. Quickly he maneuvered himself and struck the spine. The familiar sound of shattered bones was heard. As Ryuu fell from the air, he felt Saiyou’s blade plunge into his abdomen.

Ryuu’s limp body fell with a thud. Saiyou removed the blade and let the droplets of blood fly. Takuya looked away in shock. Before Ryuu could strike anymore, long, black shadows slithered from the ground and bound the demon restricting him of any movement. At the black shadows’ source, Shimura had his arm outstretched. “Binding spell, Fetters of Shadow,” explained Shimura to Takuya. As Ryuu struggled in agonizing torment, more and more blood oozed from his afflictions. “Tsuku, I can’t believe you did it,” said Takuya appalled. “Ryuu has killed so many oni already. He was ready to kill all of us. It’s only fair that he receives his punishment,” said Tsuku. “I’m surprised that your friend, Saiyou, is so strong. It’s as if he was a demon.” “That’s because he is a ...” began Takuya. “Digger is dead. I killed him,” declared Saiyou plunging his sword to the ground. “You have no one to follow.” Ryuu only spat at Saiyou’s feet.

“I was going to recruit oni like him to destroy oni like Digger, but this is gonna pose a problem,” said Saiyou turning to Shimura and the rest of the group. “Whether or not you can recruit him is not the problem. It’s the fact that he hates everyone,” said Tsuku. “Had I been able to stop him from joining Digger’s ranks, he may have turned out entirely different.” “He kept calling you traitor all this time,” noted Saiyou. “It’s because I refused to submit under Digger. I didn’t approve of killing humans and I didn’t trust the evolution panacea,” explained Tsuku. “I would have been executed if I hadn’t escaped my pursuers.” “Smart move,” complimented Saiyou. “I would have done the exact same thing. We should talk over some beer sometime.” “Like Saiyou said, we are recruiting oni to our side,” Shimura butted in. “Will you join us?”

The orange haired oni pondered a moment. “I don’t see why not. I’m already in exile. Takuya told me of your purpose here in the demon world. We share the same goals.” “At least we have one oni on Team A,” said Saiyou. “I think the other oni prefers Team B,” said Tsuku. “Now what to do now when you are telling me that the dictator of the eastern lands has fallen? I still find it hard to believe that you single handedly took him down.”

bottom of page