top of page

The Oni Slayers: Chapter 21


The four members of the gang stared at one another unsure of what to expect. “You already said that it would be difficult to bring in higher level oni to the human world,” said Saiyou. “I can’t believe you are contemplating this, Saiyou!” shouted Shimura. “What will the higher ups say about this? You do know how hard it was for me to convince our Commander to approve of our mission in the first place.” “I don’t think leaving him here wrapped up is going to do us any good. Neither of us are going to stay here to baby sit the guy so that he doesn’t go psycho out of nowhere,” Saiyou quarreled. “So why can’t we bring him with us?” Takuya asked innocently. Saiyou and Shimura looked at their friend with the biggest question on their face. “If Ryuu is going to honor his agreement, I think we should show our respect,” explained Takuya. “I know there’s probably a lot of complicated stuff I don’t understand, but should we at least trust him?”

Shimura looked down at his shoes for a moment and then back at Takuya. He added. “You’re right. We should show our trust now that he’s our responsibility. As long as Saiyou doesn’t change his mind and decides to do something else.” “Hey! I’m not that kind of person!” defended Saiyou. “We just gotta figure now how to transport us back through a portal. Ryuu’s a high level demon. I don’t want us to end up goners. Why is that we can go through the portal with no problems?” “It’s because humans can freely enter and go,” said Ryuu. “Demons are the only ones that are restricted to a summoner’s will.” “Is your portal strong enough to transport us?” asked Saiyou. “I’m afraid I don’t have an answer. I wasn’t even sure if my device was going to work in the first place. To be honest, I don’t know how to get back exactly,” said Shimura. “What do you mean ... you don’t know how to get back?” asked Saiyou. “You see, I only constructed a physical device in the human world. I don’t have a door in the demon world that can open up,” elaborated Shimura. “I would have to make another door.” “So you’re telling me you didn’t even think about making a second door?” “Uhh ... time was pressing and things like this kind of slip out of my mind.”

Saiyou tucked one arm under the other and pinched the bridge of his nose between his eyes. “If it lessens your problems a bit, I won’t be coming with you,” Tsuku spoke out. “What?” said Takuya in utter disbelief. “But aren’t you part of the team?” “No worries! I am still working with you, but I think it’s best that I stay here in the demon world. It’s probably a good idea to keep tabs on the situation,” assured Tsuku. “I don’t think it’s wise to explore any further now. The western lands are probably going to act soon so it’s best to stay put.” “That’s probably the best option we have now. We desperately need an informant and you are the perfect candidate, Tsuku,” said Shimura. “It’s great that you trust me, but I need to help you all get back,” added Tsuku. “Your best bet now is to create a portal from scratch.” “Any ideas how?” Saiyou chimed in.

The inventor of the group was now rummaging through his duffel bag. Takuya never noticed that Shimura had carried a bag with him. He also noticed that everyone’s swords had disappeared. Out of the duffel bag came endless glass jars of different colored powders and ingredients ranging from leaves to sticks to oddly shaped seeds. To Takuya’s biggest astonishment, Shimura had produced a large cast iron cauldron from his bag. “Wait ... how did you ...” said Takuya astounded. “It’s a bewitched bag. It comes in handy sometimes, but it’s rather limited in storage,” said Shimura. “I’m not exactly Harry Potter.” Still Takuya watched in amazement. “Ah, here we go,” announced Shimura happily. “We’ll do this the old fashion way. Something they teach us at school.”

On the ground, Shimura piled a mess of exotic looking ingredients. After dropping a pinch of powder, he produced an orange flame from his fingers and muttered an incantation under his breath. The flame was thrown into the pile and lit up majestically. Its smoky fumes reached Takuya’s nostrils and smelled sharply of dried herbs. Out of the flames grew an elliptical hole in the space. The recognizable flecks of red and gold from Shimura’s portal returned. “We should toss him in a sack and throw him in,” joked Saiyou as he pointed to the still tied up Ryuu. Shimura foraged his coat pockets and procured a syringe of his own invention. “I was going to leave some for myself, but I think you need it more than I do,” said Shimura. He undid the black fetters and Ryuu was free to get up from the ground. His wounds were still slightly discharging, but he did not heed to the pain. Shimura passed Ryuu the syringe and let him complete the healing process. The stringy flesh stitched itself up and the bloody skin was smooth again. “I am in your debt,” said Ryuu.

“Let’s try walking into this thing,” declared Saiyou. He was the first to enter the portal leaving Shimura, Takuya, Ryuu and Tsuku. Shimura was the second to enter, but turned back sharply. “Before I leave, what is the best way to contact you, Tsuku? I think I would like to know what goes on in the other realm.” “I believe you humans have a method called scrying. I will feel your presence if you call upon me,” answered Tsuku. Shimura disappeared into the portal and Ryuu followed suit. Takuya turned to say goodbye. “Takuya, I’m going to ask you to keep an eye on Ryuu.” “Me? I don’t know, I think he hates my guts,” Takuya hesitated. “I think he is trying to find a reason to trust you,” Tsuku simply replied. “Maybe one day he can change. In the mean time, give him a chance.”

With these final words, Tsuku disappeared in a flash. Takuya wanted to linger a bit longer, but the portal was beginning to flicker and fade. Quickly he jumped in and the door shut. The flames became a column of wispy gray smoke. Within the portal, the familiar black strip appeared again. Takuya ran ahead to catch up with the group. Saiyou was waiting impatiently with a menacing frown. “You know, I remember telling you to take care of something for me.” He whipped out his leather coat covered in mud and grass. Takuya had forgotten about it entirely. He had dropped it during the brief kidnapping in the forest. “C’mon, kid. We’ll settle this when we get back.” The portal was growing shaky and the flickering red and gold specks appeared to be violently distorting like television static. “We should hurry up. I don’t think the portal is holding up well with the four of us,” reported Shimura.

The newly formed crew advanced ahead. When he jumped, Takuya remembered the erratic route he had experienced. The series of volatile twists and turns as he fell played back deviously, however he was beginning to enjoy this journey. The free falling sensation he sensed washed over him like a whipping ocean breeze. As soon as he felt it, he was already back in Shimura’s lab.

bottom of page